Isaac McDougal, a member of Rifftide Acapella (a BYU-based acapella group), wrote the beginning of a Christmas hymns mashup a few years ago, but the idea got lost amid schoolwork and life.

In June of 2019, Sam Hepworth, another member of Rifftide and Isaac met in the BYU Library to go over Rifftide’s schedule for the upcoming semester.

They knew they wanted to do something with the #LightTheWorld campaign, and as they talked Isaac remembered the mashup and suggested it.

They kept talking and as they thought more about it they remembered other talented Latter-day Saint artists, and that the video could be even better if they could bring together these artists and collaborate together.

They then spent hours watching local LDS artists on YouTube. They finished writing the mashup and then over the next few months contacted the artists, most of whom agreed immediately when they heard the idea. Once they finalized the collaboration, Sam assigned parts of the song to each artist, and they brought in another Rifftide member, Bri Ellis, to help plan the video.

Hundreds of emails later, they were able to put together the song and video, which took over 20 hours to film.

About the Video

Rifftide’s goal with this video was to use their talents to spread Christ-centered Christmas cheer.

The song starts with an acapella tribute to vintage Christmas specials, which then fades into a modern pop sound (with a piano track written by Nathan Howe and instrumental production by Nick Porter) and ends with Rifftide singing a cappella.

The video was designed so that each artist would be participating in a traditional Christmas activity (e.g., Nadia was shopping in the mall,  Madilyn was enjoying Christmas lights, Scott and Ryceejo were enjoying hot chocolate, Jordan performed carols on the street, Oba and Courtney decorated trees, Nick and Monica brought presents to the beatboxers’ tree in a barn, and Rifftide filmed an old time Christmas special at the beginning and shared gifts around the tree towards the end).

While enjoying these Christmas traditions, each artist sang about Christ, showcasing how he is at the center of  any Christmas celebration.

Rifftide is bringing you Christmas cheer with this original Christmas mashup, alongside 13 other artists!

Visit to see how you can bring joy to others this season! 



– Arranged by Isaac McDougal and Samuel Hepworth

– Piano by Nathan Howe

– Instrumentation produced by Nick Porter

– Mixed and mastered by Becky Willard



– Written and Produced by Isaac McDougal, Samuel Hepworth, and Bri Ellis

– Shot and Edited by Brandon Young Films (


Artists featured: (In order of appearance) [Go check them out!]

– Rifftide…

– Nadia Khristean…

– Madilyn Paige

– Scott and Ryceejo…

– Jordan Caswell…

– O/B/A

– Courtney Cotter King…

– Nick Sales…

– Monica Moore Smith…

– Matt Newman…

– Brian Shepherd…

– Isaac Parker…

– Samuel Hepworth…


Special shout-out to these locations for letting them film! 

– Peace on Earth Cafe (

– The Shops at the Riverwoods (