Layton Utah Temple 2021

How many temples did each Latter-day Saint prophet announce?


As of October 2021…

President Russell M. Nelson — 83.

President Gordon B. Hinckley — 78.

President Thomas S. Monson — 45.

President Spencer W. Kimball — 31.

President Ezra Taft Benson — 9.

President David O. McKay — 7.

President Joseph Smith — 5 (Due to persecution, two were built).

President Brigham Young — 4.

President Howard W. Hunter — 3.

President Heber J. Grant — 3.

President Joseph F. Smith — 2.

Presidents John Taylor, Wilford Woodruff, Lorenzo Snow, George Albert Smith, Joseph Fielding Smith and Harold B. Lee did not announce new temples during their administrations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like
Ne13apr04 all my first temple recommend n13aca4

The new temple recommend interview questions: What exactly has changed?

President Russell M. Nelson of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints continued his fervent focus on improving the faith’s temple worship Sunday at the concluding session of the 189th Semiannual General Conference. He read an updated list of questions Church members will be asked when receiving a temple recommend. The new questions are below. Temple recommend questions have been periodically clarified or adjusted to meet the needs and circumstances of God’s children. These current updates clarify, but do not change, worthiness requirements to enter a temple.
View Post