61dthuimkal. sx399 bo1204203200

2016 AML (Association for Mormon Letters) award winners announced (Deseret News)

The Association for Mormon Letters announced honors for publications and other works across more than a dozen categories.
See the full Deseret News article here.

See associationmormonletters.org for more information.


The Association for Mormon Letters announced honors for publications and other works across more than a dozen categories at its conference last week at Writ and Vision in Provo on April 21 and at Utah Valley University in Orem on April 22. About 55 works, from poetry and screenplays to novels and films, which are by, for or about members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, were named as finalists.

Author Orson Scott Card was presented with the Smith-Pettit Foundation Award for Outstanding Contribution to Mormon Letters, and Susan Elizabeth Howe was presented the Association for Mormon Letters Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 2016 AML award in the comics category went to Anthony Holden for “Precious Rascals.”

In the creative nonfiction category, the award went to Patrick Madden for “Sublime Physick.” Honorable mention was awarded to “Baring Witness: 36 Mormon Women Talk Candidly about Love, Sex and Marriage,” edited by Holly Welker.

The award in the criticism category went to Jack Harrell for “Writing Ourselves: Essays on Creativity, Craft and Mormonism.”

“Burn,” a play by Morag Shepherd, won the AML award for drama.

“The Split House,” written and directed by Annie Poon, received the film category award.

In the middle-grade novel category, the award went to Ally Condie for “Summerlost.”

The AML award for a novel went to Dan Wells for “Over Your Dead Body,” book five in the John Wayne Cleaver series.

In the young adult novel category, the winner was “The Serpent King,” by Jeff Zentner.

The award in the picture book category went to “Our Heavenly Family, Our Earthly Families,” by McArthur Krishna and Bethany Brady Spalding, and illustrated by Caitlin Connolly.

Matthew James Babcock received the poetry award for his collection titled “Strange Terrain.”

In the category of religious nonfiction, the award went to “As Iron Sharpens Iron: Listening to the Various Voices of Scripture,” edited by Julie M. Smith.

The special award for religious nonfiction publishing went to Thomas F. Rogers for “Let Your Hearts and Minds Expand: Reflections on Faith, Reason, Charity and Beauty.” The book was edited by Jonathan Langford and Linda Hunter Adams.

The award in the short fiction category went to “Kid Kirby,” by Levi S. Peterson.

The award for short fiction collection went to Darin Cozzens for “The Last Blessing of J. Guyman LeGrand and Other Stories.”

Director Greg Whiteley received the video series award for his Netflix original documentary series “Last Chance U.”

See associationmormonletters.org for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like

Speed Read the Book of Mormon

There’s a number of companies researching ways to help speed read easily—can the methods be applied effectively to scripture study?
View Post

How To Put General Conference On Your Kindle

 The blog LDS Kindle Books has converted the past few General Conferences for reading on your Kindle. Here’s how to put them on your Kindle (if you’re new to putting…
View Post

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Ot10 tijuana mexico temple **#ComeFollowMe nugget** | 𝙸 𝚊𝚖 𝚙𝚛𝚘𝚖𝚒𝚜𝚎𝚍 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚋𝚕𝚎𝚜𝚜𝚒𝚗𝚐𝚜 𝚘𝚏 𝙰𝚋𝚛𝚊𝚑𝚊𝚖 𝚒𝚗 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚝𝚎𝚖𝚙𝚕𝚎.

Get uplifting content in your e-mail.

We'll send you an email with our latest printables, content, downloads, & other useful information. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!