Google is evolving beyond the simple POP3/IMAP/SMTP protocols for email.

They are now working on emails that “expire” or self-destruct.”

Basically, in the composition screen, there’s a tiny lock icon called “confidential mode.”

It says that the recipient won’t be able to forward email content, copy and paste, download or print the email.

 

You can configure the expiration date so that your email disappears after 1 week, 1 month, multiple years, etc.

You can also ask your recipient to confirm their identity with a passcode sent via text message.

 

On the recipient side, the person was using the existing version of Gmail and received a link to view the confidential email. The recipient had to log into their Google account once again to view the content. When viewing the confidential message, copy and paste as well as the print feature were disabled. However, taking a screenshot is still a possibility.

What are your thoughts? Do you like this? Not like it? Why?

Read more at Techcrunch!